Janelle Monáe – The Electric Lady (Album Cover x Track List)

by ike

The second studio album (or third if you’ve been an avid fan and followed the Metropolis era) by Cover Girl’s leading lady, Janelle Monáe, has finally received a track listing and album cover. Or something of an album cover. No one really knows if the digital cover is going to remain the white and black lettering reading The Electric Lady uploaded to iTunes or not. More on that later.

Anyways, Monáe definitely calls on a star-studded slew of features from the likes of Solange to Prince. Check out more from the upcoming album after the break!

For those of you aware, Janelle Monáe continues the “suite” exposé, this time adding IV and V. I’m kind of happy that she’s kept this style throughout each album (Metropolis: the Chase Suite being Suite I and The ArchAndroid containing Suites II and III) because it gives her work a sense of uniformity and cohesion in that they all sync up together as one fucking awesome piece of work.

Due September 10, the album is comprised of two separate discs and features a more electronic and futuristic sound. Monáe describes the album as,

The ArchAndroid focused on self-realization: realizing your superpower and the things that you’re capable of doing. With The Electric Lady, we’re talking about self-actualization: being the change you want to see. It’s also more personal, more revealing. The new album deals with a new breed of women… strong, bold women who are taking their stands and not being marginalized.

Janelle Monáe continues to surprise me and is easily one of my favorite female artists of the past decade. If anything is to be expected of this album, is that her sound continues to evolve and seemingly remaining true to her craft. And can we just give high praise to the fucking Prince and Esperanza Spalding features?!

Check out the track list below, as well as both Target’s album cover and iTunes album cover. Target’s cover may be the official use and iTunes has just been using it’s version as a place holder for when Monáe released the official one. Who knows. And as always, you can pre-order the album via iTunes now here and Monáe’s second single, Dance Apocalyptic, will begin downloading immediately and will be added towards your overall purchase price when the album drops.


Disc 1

  1. Suite IV Electric Overture
  2. Givin’ Em What They Love (feat. Prince)
  3. Q.U.E.E.N. (feat. Erykah Badu)
  4. Electric Lady (feat. Solange)
  5. Good Morning Midnight (Interlude)
  6. PrimeTime (feat. Miguel)
  7. We Were Rock & Roll
  8. The Chrome Shoppe (Interlude)
  9. Dance Apocalyptic
  10. Look Into My Eyes

Disc 2

  1. Suite V Electric Overture
  2. It’s Code
  3. Ghetto Woman
  4. Our Favorite Fugitive (Interlude)
  5. Victory
  6. Can’t Live Without Your Love
  7. Sally Ride
  8. Dorothy Dandridge Eyes (feat. Esperanza Spalding)
  9. What An Experience

Target Deluxe Edition

  1. HYTB
  2. I Want You Back (Jackson 5 Cover)
  3. Q.U.E.E.N. (Wondamix) [feat. Erykah Badu]
  4. The Electric Lady (Dungeon-Wondamix) [feat. Big Boi & Cee Lo Green]