Kilo Kish – k+ (Mixtape)

by ike

Sorry guys, meant to post this earlier, but got caught up in class about Islam vs. Christianity. Actually a very interesting conversation, but besides the point, Kilo Kish makes a return. That is, her second official mixtape, k+, has been released and to a happy listener from over here might I add. Yeah yeah!

The frail, soft yet somehow hard in delivery Kish released her sophomore mixtape via Twitter this morning and honestly, it’s all I’ve been playing today. Or yesterday… whatever. Now before you go all out, you Kilo Kish fans, keep in mind that this go round, she decides to rely heavily on her, um, vocals. I mean lets be real, it’s not like she’s J. Hud blowing or anything.

The feature heavy mixtape features amazing production from the likes of SBTRKT, Earl Sweatshirt, Matt Martians and more alongside vocals by Jesse Boykins III, Childish Gambino and Vince Staples amongst others. Apparently she wanted to outshine her previous effort, but kept the indie/experimental sound whilst going “somewhat” mainstream. That is, if there is a mainstream underground. I don’t know.

Regardless, this is a pretty solid effort for a second stab and I’ll be looking forward to hearing more in the future. Nice production, solid verses from Kish and features. A little more vocal heavy than rapping compared to her HomeSchool – EP, but I’m pretty sure many will find the listen in good spirits. I would love to hear her alongside JMSN by the way.

Download the mixtape here and listen to Creepwave featuring fellow New Yorkers, Flatbush ZOMBiES, a track she teased fans with a couple of days before releasing the tap below. Also check out the artwork and track list!

  1. k+ Intro
  2. Goldmine (feat. Jesse Boykins III)
  3. Ghost (feat. Childish Gambino)
  4. Trappin’ (feat. Vince Staples)
  5. IOU
  6. Turquoise (feat. Jesse Boykins III)
  7. Scones (feat. Childish Gambino)
  8. Love2k (feat. A$AP Ferg & Smash Simmons)
  9. Better (feat. Andrea Balency)
  10. Creepwave (feat. Flatbush ZOMBiES)

As always, happy listening!