New Music: Cocaine 80s – The Flower of Life – EP

by ike

For starters, Cocaine 80s have been blowing up as of recent. From features on Common’s The Dreamer, The Believer album to assisted vocals on the latest Kanye West and company release, Cruel Summer, lead singer James Fauntleroy and his team of musicians have put forth their long awaited free EP, The Flower of Life. If you’re looking for essentially the male version of wavvy group, The Internet, then this is for you!

Most known for his writing on songs such as No Air by Jordin Sparks, Take You Down and Superhuman by Chris Brown and Love Sex Magic by Ciara, Fauntleroy is no stranger to the music realm. As I stated earlier he vocally contributed most recently to Common’s The Dreamer, The Believer (Gold, Cloth, Celebrate and Windows) as well as G.O.O.D. Music’s compilation album Cruel Summer (Clique, Higher, Sin City and The One).

The alternative music group has offered a slew of free music over the last year or so and they return for their latest offering, The Flower of Life. Common and Jhené Aiko are the only features on the release, but honestly the group holds up quite well by themselves.

The EP was preceded by the single Lucid to generally favorable reviews and sprinkled just the right amount of excitement for the up and coming release (especially from this guy right here). The Flower of Life will leave you wanting more and have you pushing repeat on many of the tracks.

Featuring a wavvy, new age alternative/R&B sound, the Cocaine 80s are almost comparable to Odd Future’s The Internet duo consisting of Syd Tha Kyd and Matt Martians. I actually would love to hear them all do a collaborative track together. Anyways, the EP is something of a little hint of gold, but you can tell that Fauntleroy and the rest of Cociane 80s aren’t revealing all their cards to leave the listener(s) looking out for new releases.

In short, I think if you haven’t listened to their more popular EP release, The Pursuit, then this is a good way to get hooked on the coke first. I’d explain more, but don’t want to ruin any surprises for the newcomers. Check out the track listing and album artwork below and download the free EP here, light one up then enjoy!

  1. Kuro to Shiro (feat. Common)
  2. The Distant River
  3. Ground
  4. The Sun and the Moon
  5. Fly Ass Pieces (feat. Jhené Aiko & Common)
  6. Higher Self
  7. Lucid

– Ike