One Absence on good kid, m.A.A.d city Addressed

by ike

As we discovered earlier this week, artists ScHoolBoy Q, Ab-soul, KiD CuDi and Lady GaGa would not be making an appearance on Kendrick Lamar’s studio album debut despite prior rumors. Although we weren’t given an explanation as to whether these artists were just speculations or rather they “just didn’t make he cut,” Lady GaGa has broken some silence. 

The Mother Monster took to her personal website, Little Monsters, to address the confusion around the Partynauseous collaboration. According to her note penned to her Little Monsters, management issues involving differing artistic direction (which is HUGE reason I heavily dislike labels, but that will be discussed in a later post). Not to worry however, she also alludes that the track will still be released later on a different project. Quite possibly her next album, ARTPOP, in my opinion.

Read the letter below.

I apologize to the fans that this situation with Partynauseous is confusing. To [clear] it up I must explain this. When I collaborate with an artist I work solely with them, not with their camps or management. [It’s] purely organic and creative. I love Kendrick dearly as a friend, but was not willing to compromise musically to the changes his team was making to my music. This is why I am not [on] his record. I have a very specific visions as a producer and songwriter, and I always have [been]. That song will be released at a different time, for a different project. I love you, and think you should check out his stuff because he is truly great. He’s a good kid, [it’s] just sometimes a mad city. – LG

I respect Lady GaGa’s decision to not compromise. Usually we get quality work from her and if she felt that she was being positioned differently, then I think it was for the best. When the track gets released, I’m sure it will be a big one.

Ike

